Women = Bargain Buggers?

Most shopkeepers and vendors want to avoid dealing with lady customers. This is because they bargain very shrewdly, putting into use all the dramatics, antics and God ! that high pitched shrilly voice ! For once I don’t blame the former as I have actually found myself pitying them when they are caught up with the ladies. Truly, their work requires great skill and patience.21

Why do they do this ? THE WOMEN? Of course, If you ask them, they’d say that it’s because the seller usually tells a higher price at first. Well, wouldn’t that be because you always get him to lower it ?

I think it goes deeper than that. In most traditional setups, women run the house while men earn money. So the wife gets a limited supply of money from her husband. Now, she can not work more to earn more. But, she can work more to save more ! This is what I believe led to the development of highly advanced bargaining skill set amongst them.

I am not saying that all women are like that. Obviously, I am referring to a particular section of society here. And, I am not even saying that all women in such section are like that. In fact, I am just offering a genuine explanation for those who are. Is it really their fault?

Now, this issue may have reminded you of an aunt who has a similar habit. But in some of your cases, she might not be a part of such traditional setup but still be doing it. That’s just because she saw her mother do it, or her aunt maybe, or even a neighbour, or well, the society conveyed this message to her that women are supposed to act this way.

I am not saying that such a behaviour couldn’t be a natural tendency for some women, but I don’t believe that it’s the same for all women and I didn’t come across any credible research that suggested the same. So, I would say that it is mostly the constraints they are put in and the influence thereon that leads them to it. And, I am sure many men are thankful for it 😀 So, Stop Complaining you guys !! Do what you can to undo it, but remember that Rome wasn’t built in a day. Good Luck 🙂

2 thoughts on “Women = Bargain Buggers?

  1. A very impressive perspective indeed 🙂 . Assigning the same reason of budgeting, I’ve noticed many young hostler guys bargaining furiously too.. And even though bargaining beyond the reasonable price and the shopkeeper’s patience in nerve wracking, it does make one recognize the value of money

Leave a Reply

